5 Ways To Kick A Rut!

       I’m going to get real with you guys. I’ve been in a kind of rut lately which sucks but something good came out of it in the fact that I was able to write this post for you guys and give myself some advice as well as possibly help some of you if you happen to also be in a rut. So I sat down and thought about it for awhile and here you go, my top 5 tips for getting out of a rut.

 

#1) Get Out Of bed!

     When I’m in a rut all I want to do is lounge in bed all day watching Netflix and playing on my phone. I’ve found that this is probably the most counterproductive thing I could do. What helps me is to make myself get out of bed, get ready for the day and to get outside, preferably with friends. This way I’m not alone, inside, wallowing my day away but instead doing something that makes me feel human again and happy. This is a great first step to feeling better.

 

#2) Get Moving!

      To quote a favorite movie of mine, “Exercise gives you endorphins and endorphins make you happy…” It’s true. One of the first things to go when I hit a rut is my health, I just don’t have the energy to work out. But it’s been proven that not only does exercise give you endorphins but a quick 30-60 min workout can also give you a nice boost in your energy levels. So get moving in whichever way you prefer whether it’s hitting the gym, doing yoga, or going for a run. For me specifically running in the woods is extremely therapeutic. It’s the mixture of the running, the fresh air, and the beautiful scenery around me makes me feel better about life.

 

#3) Make Time For Inspiring Things!

     What are you passionate about? What is something that you do just for you, because you like it? What inspires you? I could name so many things. These things are important. I often get so caught up in all the things that I have to do that I lose sight of what’s really important to me, what I really want to do. So my advice would be to make time for the things you want to do whether it’s writing a blog, writing in a journal, painting, drawing, whatever helps you calm down your mind, be creative, and feel good about yourself in the moment.

 

#4) Get Off The Phone!

      I have a bad habit of getting sucked into my phone when I’m in a rut because it distracts me from how lonely and depressed I feel. This is terrible because it also distracts me from everything around me and from taking the initiative and getting out there and actually changing my circumstances. Instead of using games, movies, and social media as a distraction put down the phone and hang out by yourself for a while or use your phone to call up a friend and then go hang out with the specific goal of ignoring your phones. Go sightseeing around town or visit a nearby city, go rock climbing, hiking, a museum (fun fact: my local museum just opened a really cool dinosaur exhibit and I honestly can’t wait to go see it!), there are so many possibilities.

 

#5) Enjoy New Experiences!

     I live for trying new things, this is no surprise to anyone who knows me. But I’ve found that going out and trying something new is also an exciting and great way to help get me out of a rut. New experiences alone won’t fix everything but it can definitely help. One of my favorite things to do while in a rut is to hit the highway, usually by myself but sometimes with a friend, and just drive with no destinations in mind, take random turns, get lost, see where I end up. I stop when I get to a city that looks interesting and spend the day there, try the local food, check out the scenery, and see if there’s any local entertainment. The mini escape from my everyday life gives me a break and room to think about my life and help me fix the rut. If running away for the day seems a little too extreme then stop and think, everyone has a list of things that they want to try whether its activities, food, places to go. I feel like being in a rut is the best time to grab some friends and do some of those things, I’ve noticed that I appreciate them a lot more in the moment.

One thought on “5 Ways To Kick A Rut!

  1. So there are 5 of my tips for kicking a rut. What do you guys think? Also, if you have anything to add or any personal tips that you want to share, comment them here. I ‘d love to see what advice other people have. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

