Exploring My Home State

Hello!

Look at me posting 3 blogs in 2 days, I’m on a roll! So, as some of you may know, I’m homeless right now for almost a month and decided to use that as an excuse to do some of the traveling that I’ve been wanting to do all summer. Me and my boyfriend just got back from Colorado and I was looking for a new adventure. Because I’m a broke college student and I do not have thousands of dollars at my disposal to plan some grand trip I decided to go the cheap route and see what kind of cool, undiscovered (to me at least) things I can find in my own state. With some help from google me and my old roommate decided to plan a trip to go see this lavender farm about an hour away from us. The lavender farm was a bust but landed us right next to Silver Lake Sand Dunes. We decided to spend the rest of the day there.

In case you're wondering, I’m from Michigan. Although I’ve spent most of my life here, I’ve hardly done any of the cool touristy stuff or beautiful sightseeing that this state has to offer. Now if you’re not from Michigan, let me tell you I’ve lived all over this state and some parts of the state are not that great but for the most part it’s a really cool mix of city life with some natural beauty usually pretty close by. For instance, I live probably 15 minutes away from a cool city in one direction and 30 mins from lake Michigan in the other direction. So, here is my take on exploring Silver Lake for the first time.

If you’re not from Michigan then let me explain a concept to you, in michigan when we are looking for a vacation or just to get away for the weekend we go “up north”. This “up north” is less of a general direction or destination and more of a concept, it’s not a specific distance away and can take anywhere from 30 minutes to 9 hours of driving, not always headed north either. To us, going “up north” is just a phrase for the concept of getting out of the city and heading to the more woodsy areas of the state which tend to be more towards the north of the state.

Now that I’ve explained that, let me tell you, Silver Lake is like the embodiment of what “Up North” means to me. It’s a total Michigan beach town complete with a giant fresh water lake aka Silver Lake, camp grounds everywhere nestled in the woods, giant sand dunes which people drive their trucks, dirt bikes, and dune buggies all over, and gift shops selling sweatshirts for when it inevitably gets cold at night even in the middle of the summer. A sweatshirt over a bikini with a pair of shorts is like the standard uniform of all Michiganders on summer nights by the lake, this uniform also includes the official Michigan perfume (in my opinion) lots and lots of bug spray.

All in all it was a really cool town. We had to park in the state park parking lot (state parks are another Michigan staple with 101 of them located all over the state), which wasn't a big deal since i get a recreational passport every time I renew my license giving me free access to all state parks. The dunes were so much fun. If you ever get a chance to go, I highly recommend climbing to the top and watching the vehicles drive all over the dunes for a bit, its definitely worth it and fun to watch. But if that's not your thing you can head over to the lake, it's a bit of a hike through the dunes and a little tiring walking in all the sand but the lake is really pretty and a good place to hang out, swim, picnic, or whatever else you’d want to do at the beach. I liked to sit at the top of the dunes and take in the full 360 degree picture of the dunes and lake, it's breathtaking.

2 thoughts on “Exploring My Home State

Leave a Reply

